Off Road Vehicles banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello i am very new to 4x4 and i got hooked on it when i went mudding with my friend in his 88 chevy.i was wondering what type of truck to get? i know it is a matter of opinion but i have no clue. i do want something with a solid frt end or the ford independent frt end. just give me some yrs and types. just has to be a truck and what to look for thx!

G

·
gumby said:
hello i am very new to 4x4 and i got hooked on it when i went mudding with my friend in his 88 chevy.i was wondering what type of truck to get? i know it is a matter of opinion but i have no clue. i do want something with a solid frt end or the ford independent frt end. just give me some yrs and types. just has to be a truck and what to look for thx!
well for something cheap to beat on and repair, a 73-87 chevy is what to get

for off road fuel injection is nice to have so that makes 87 the best year, if you plan on larger than a 35" tire then you need to find a 1 ton chevy from 77-87 or get any 73-87 and bolt in 1 ton axles

ford and dodge trucks cost a little more but are also good choices, you want a solid axle period, no ifs, dodges if you get a 1/2 ton you will want to upgrade the axles.

77-79 ford is another good choice, they look tough and are not all that bad on price for parts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thx for the info. i was wondering about carb or fuel injection thx for clearing that answer up. so solid axle all the way i will keep that in mind. i just like u said wanted something cheap to play with that doesnt get expensive to lift.

·
Registered
8,931 Posts
If you want something cheap, look at the Jeep Cherokees. They are a dime a dozen, solid axles, mods are plentiful,easy to work on, and parts are fairly cheap. The only downside is the uni-body but you can work around it.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·