Off Road Vehicles banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,408 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I have been wanting a welder for a while now just don't know much about them. I was told that I could get one for christmas but that she didn't want me getting a $400 one now and deciding in 2 weeks I need a $700 one to do what I want. Well I want something pretty powerful and yet easy to use as I have never used one before. I'd like to be able to do exhaust work myself and weld up stuff on my bikes. Maybe build a roll cage for my car or weld the frame backtogether on my bike stuff like that. I am now wondering if I will get much use out of it so not sure if I need one or not but if I get one which ones should I look at.

·
Registered
298 Posts
i have a miller MIG welder, its a millermatic 115, i payed around 750 for it with the argon/co2. its an awesome welder, and trust me, you will use it.

·
Registered
129 Posts
I have a Lincoln Pro-Core 100, which is a wire feed, flux cored MIG type welder. Very easy to use, requires no stable gas to use, and will weld up to 1/4". It ran me $330 at Lowes and it's done more than I needed it to.

I also have a stick welder for anything big such as bumpers and such, but if all you're doing is welding exhaust and bike frames I'd get the Pro Core 100. You can also buy the kit at a later date to convert it to a true gas sheilded MIG welder capable of welding 3/8" and the kit's $100.

Also get a welding book, and try to set up some lessons or something with someone who knows how to weld. It's not hard to run a bead, the hard part is doing it efficiently and completely.

·
Registered
1,579 Posts
We have the miller 175 here at home but check out hobart I heard just as good as miller. Ours was like 1000 out the door

·
Registered
844 Posts