Off Road Vehicles banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a single Skyjacker steering stabilzer and I was just going to replace it in the same place as the stock one, but I can only get one side of the stock one off. I know this is probably the dumbest question of all time, but I am new at this stuff. Does anyone know how to get the stock stabilzer off? Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
2,415 Posts
2wd's have no steering stabilizers if they have front IFS. As far as getting the stabilizer off, I imagine you are talking that the tie-rod end won't come off, the long stud throught the tie rod. Simple: Beat the hell out if it. The new stabilizer should have another bolt and beveled shim for the stabilizer. You will not reuse the old stud. I have a 2000, and it has the same setup, and this is what I had to do.

·
Registered
203 Posts
i installed a rancho steering stabilizer on my ram and the stock stabilizer was a real pain in the a** to get off. i had to use a pitman arm puller and when it popped off, it shot out about 10 feet. the puller fit better with the wheels turned to the left – this got the bolt away from the trackbar.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I ordered mine from 4wheelparts and i didnt get a new bolt or beveled shim. So, I thought I was supposed to reuse the old ones, where can I get new ones, assuming i can get the dang thing off.

·
Registered
203 Posts
you may want to give 4 wheel parts a call. i have put on a few of these and they all had new hardware. you can also call the folks at skyjacker (318 388-0816) and give them the part number that you ordered. they will tell you what hardware is supposed to come with the kit. it is hard (not imposable) to re-use the old hardware because you usually end up beating the s*** out of it to get it off. good luck..

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
Cough Cough ehem

i have 2wd ifs with a steering stab.