Off Road Vehicles banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I'm relatively new to the world of off road, but I want to start out right. So hopefully some of you old pros out there can offer some advice. I currently own a 2000 Dodge Ram standard cab short bed. Because I bought it used I'm not sure of the package it has. I know that there is a lift of about 3 inches and some skid plates, could that be factory? The 5.9 is almost completely stock save a K&N. I've added some westin nerf bars, a sport masters tonneau, and a rhino liner. I'm looking to install a new exhaust, suspension (4 inches or more), trans temp gauge, and body lift. Unfortunately, I know what I want, but not what brands and products are the best for a truck that's still a daily driver. Otherwise I'm still searching for the right mods. What would you suggest to boost power under the hood without sacrificing too much mpg? Like many other Dodge owners I've heard countless horror stories about tranny problems so what can I do/add to help keep my tranny healthy? As for the exhaust, I want something that will help out my power first and foremost, but I wouldnt' mind a nice deep roar :wink: I know this is alot to swallow, but I'm really excited about working on my first ride, and I want to make sure I do it right. So I guess I'm just asking what has and what hasn't worked for you Dodge owners out there. Thanks again for ANY help you can offer I look forward to hearing what you have to say.

PS If you have ANY other suggestions about parts, tech, maintenence etc. feel free to let me in OR if you know legal/fun trails to ride in the Chicago/west central IL area my ears are open.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
PPS The Trans is stock auto. That's bout all I know, is there a way for me to find out other specs on my truck? Thanks again!

·
Registered
77 Posts
Welcome to the best 4x4 site on the planet!:)