Off Road Vehicles banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
969 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just found out that the state of Maine (in which I'm a resident) Is changing the lift height for trucks from 7 inches down to 3 inches. This is appauling, In Maine you need a truck to get through the winter and all the backwoods areas. 3 FREAKIN INCHES!!!!!! Anyone that does not live here should feel lucky. Oh yeah I forgot to mention that my truck has a 4 inch lift kit on it. Its going to be a battle to pass inspection next year, but there is no way I'm taking the lift off after paying $1200 for it. IF YOU OWN A TRUCK, STAY AWAY FROM MAINE!!!!!

·
Premium Member
9,227 Posts
Sorry to hear that. The inconsistent laws in this country are a pain to deal with.

At least the CA law is frame height based on GVWR and not some fixed lift height.

·
Registered
969 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, I'm not very clear on how lift/clearance laws are in other states but Maine has always been pretty strict, the place I usually go to for inspection said they might be able to find a few loopholes for me.
How high is a truck allowed to be in Calafornia?

·
Registered
33 Posts
Here in Florida it is measured from ground to bottom of bumper and is based on vehicle weight. I have a 3" suspension lift and 36" tires and I am well below the max.

·
Registered
3,312 Posts
That does suck...
well in NJ they just changed their laws too..
All trucks with 44's are no longer grandfathered. At the end of this year 38's are the biggest...
my truck has 13" leafs all the way round and 40" ground hawgs...but measure 37 inches...
I am currently working on the truck I took my 3 inch body lift off.

I have to replace the motor-killed it
fix exhaust
adjust steering
fix breaks
then register the truck...

hopefully they dont change the laws again...

oh yeah with gvw up to 4500 you can have 35's
4500-7500 you can have 36's and I fall in the 7500-10000 (with 8400gvw) for 38's
...............geeeeeeeezzzzee

·