Off Road Vehicles banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,586 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
not a real good idea, the old chevy's you could but i think yours would need a lot of grinding, not a little.

·
Registered
246 Posts
ya that does not sound like a good way to do that. you need 16inch rims if thats the case. i think anyone that does that take a huge liyablity in gringing down brake calipers. they are that way for a reason. get differnt rims man dont do it. thats my $75.00/hr answer to that. i am a mechanic and i would not even think of doin that. you dont screw with brakes ... its a safty issue.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
15x10 Steel rims should fit, or some forged rims that have a larger inner diameter.

Justin, what are your thoughts on disabling RWAL on a Ram? Bad idea, bad idea, or just so-so bad idea? It's not required safety equipment, is it?

Thanks,

·
Registered
246 Posts
i would say diableing any brake safty equipment would me a bad idia. it just brings up a lot of satfy issues. if you ever get into a bad accedent and they check out your truck and find that disabled they bad find you at falt do to neglejence (bad spelling). brake are something as a mechanic i take very souriosly and dont recomend that you change unless upgradeding to big rotors and calipers and even then you could be walkin a fine line.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
The problem is that I can disable RWAL, take you for a drive, and "panic stop" the truck, and show you a MUCH shorter stop on dry pavement.

The RWAL claims it has an "isolation" valve so that you don't lose front braking power, but if you hit a bump during hard braking, and the back-end hops, you lock the rears. That's just the way trucks are. But RWAL suddenly thinks you're on ice, and panics, and dumps brake-pressure.