Off Road Vehicles banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Banned
1,258 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yeah when i got my flowmaster muffler i wanted the " true " dual setup..with two mufflers, but i was told that with the new engines that you connot put two mufflers due to needed backpressure and all the computers involved....what are your comments on this??

·
Registered
54 Posts
I was told you couldn't install true dual if you didn't already have the 2 cat setup. Stock, I had two pipes coming off my engine, and two cats with a two in, one out muffler. Texas law allowed me to set u p my car with two mufflers because of it.

I don't know why...so I guess I can't answer your question...but nothing is illegal if you do it yourself and tip off emmisions guys.

....just a thought

-zach-

·
Registered
267 Posts
its not just the back pressure, but also the velocity of the exhaust. my 96 c3500 had dual cats behind the 454 and when i tried to run bored cats and open pipe beyond that it kept tripping the service engine light. dealer said the exhaust was too hot on one set of o2s, and too cool on the other. i put flows on it with tips at the back and the light didn't trigger after that. my truck had an o2 in front of and behind each cat. if you don't have four it may be different.

·
Registered
464 Posts
YOu can install two mufflers typically (consult with local/state Johnny Law before attempting this tho) as long as you have a cat. converter for each pipe. Modern engines do need certain things, but the modification of dual exhaust will not (I've NEVER seen a vehicle not run right after doing this) cause any problems.