Off Road Vehicles banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to see some pics. I have 2 kicker 600.4 amps and 1 kicker 1200.1 amp and 4 10" kicker subs. Things look really tight behind the seats. So I figure the amps could go back there. And the sub under the seats. Any pics before I start tearing sh!t out?

I bought these from a friend (screaming deal BTW). I don't know what he had running to the highs or what was running the subs. Suggestions? I plan on running the stock radio/CD player. I don't have any highs. So plans are to use the stock speakers. Donation of quality speaker accepted. :bigthumb:

thanks
-Nick
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,243 Posts
if those 10's dont fit, check out Resonant Engineering's RE8's. they are 8" dimeter and have a 3.75" mounting depth, and will handle 200 watts rms. ive got 4 of them running on a jbl 600.1 amp, and it sounds quite good to me. oh yeah, they are pretty cheap too.
http://www.reaudio.com/
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,582 Posts
On 2005-12-03 12:20, NickM wrote:
I would like to see some pics. I have 2 kicker 600.4 amps and 1 kicker 1200.1 amp and 4 10" kicker subs. Things look really tight behind the seats. So I figure the amps could go back there. And the sub under the seats. Any pics before I start tearing sh!t out?

I bought these from a friend (screaming deal BTW). I don't know what he had running to the highs or what was running the subs. Suggestions? I plan on running the stock radio/CD player. I don't have any highs. So plans are to use the stock speakers. Donation of quality speaker accepted. :bigthumb:

thanks
-Nick
I would a$$ume the 1200.1 was running the subs. its probably good down to one ohm mono and they are probably 4 ohm subs. the 600.4s were running the high end. If you dont have any use for the 600s Id be interested in them...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,171 Posts
You are gonna have fun fitting 4 10's in behind the back seat of that truck. My cousin had put 4 CVR 10's behind the backseat of his 02' chevy 4dr 2500 and it sounded good but didnt have the air space he needed. He just did it because everyone told him that it could not be done but he just moved the rear seat forward a little bit and built a box. You may actually have better sound from 2 12's under that back seat and then mount the amps on the back wall. Or since you already have the 10's just put the 2 10's under the back seat. I have a friend that built a speaker box for this guys 05' dodge 4dr 2500 and it is under the rear seat and fiberglassed. It freakin pounds with just the 2 10's. I was real surprised.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
OK, anyone with experience in this can jump right in when ever ya want.

I decided to run the 1200 to 2 of the 10"s. Seems I cant fit any more than that. Ill make my own top like the one above.

Question: how do I wire it for best sound? They are dual voice coil 4ohm subs. And the amp is a 2 channel.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,171 Posts
On 2005-12-03 22:36, NickM wrote:
OK, anyone with experience in this can jump right in when ever ya want.

I decided to run the 1200 to 2 of the 10"s. Seems I cant fit any more than that. Ill make my own top like the one above.

Question: how do I wire it for best sound? They are dual voice coil 4ohm subs. And the amp is a 2 channel.

Can you get a pic of where the speaker hooks up are on the 1200.1? I just did some checking up on it and it should be a mono amp. As in only one spot for a speaker hook up. Is it is that way then just hook everything up parallel and you will have a 1 ohm load from you subs. Parallel is + to + on the sub to + on the amp and then - to - on the sub and then to - on the amp. Here is a pic of it so that way it will be a little easier.

[img=400x195]http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/rftech/wiringwizard/2_4ohmDVC_1ohm.gif[/img]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
232 Posts
On 2005-12-03 23:07, Robert97dodge wrote:


Can you get a pic of where the speaker hooks up are on the 1200.1? I just did some checking up on it and it should be a mono amp. As in only one spot for a speaker hook up. Is it is that way then just hook everything up parallel and you will have a 1 ohm load from you subs. Parallel is + to + on the sub to + on the amp and then - to - on the sub and then to - on the amp. Here is a pic of it so that way it will be a little easier.

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/rftech/wiringwizard/2_4ohmDVC_1ohm.gif

the amp should be a KX1200.1 meaning its a mono block... its a damn nice amp... but yeah wire them like that to get a 1 ohm load and you should be good to go...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,243 Posts
you shouldn't need the capacitors. you already have 2 batteries...... and if your truck has problems with powering the amp(s), upgrade your alternator. sell those capacitors on ebay.

that 1200.1 amp is too big for only two of those subs. you would be putting 600 watts rms to each sub, which is twice their rated rms power handling.
-unless you can run the amp at 4 ohms.... i dont know what it puts out at 4 ohm. if it puts out somewhere around 600x1 @ 4 ohms, then you're good to go.

you might be able to bridge one of those 600.4 amps down to two channels, and run the two subs off that. but, it looks like that amp will only run bridged at 4 ohms. and you cant achieve a 4 ohm load with one 4 ohm DVC sub per channel.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,582 Posts
On 2005-12-04 13:13, K5Chris wrote:
you shouldn't need the capacitors. you already have 2 batteries...... and if your truck has problems with powering the amp(s), upgrade your alternator. sell those capacitors on ebay.

that 1200.1 amp is too big for only two of those subs. you would be putting 600 watts rms to each sub, which is twice their rated rms power handling.
-unless you can run the amp at 4 ohms.... i dont know what it puts out at 4 ohm. if it puts out somewhere around 600x1 @ 4 ohms, then you're good to go.

you might be able to bridge one of those 600.4 amps down to two channels, and run the two subs off that. but, it looks like that amp will only run bridged at 4 ohms. and you cant achieve a 4 ohm load with one 4 ohm DVC sub per channel.
Kickers site rates the 1200.1 at 1200 watts at 1 ohm. that means it will only put out 300 watts at 4 ohms. Id say wire the subs up for a 1 ohm load and use your gain to tune it down a bit. that or sell the 4 subs and get 2 good subs that can handle the power
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
232 Posts
On 2005-12-04 13:13, K5Chris wrote:
you shouldn't need the capacitors. you already have 2 batteries...... and if your truck has problems with powering the amp(s), upgrade your alternator. sell those capacitors on ebay.

that 1200.1 amp is too big for only two of those subs. you would be putting 600 watts rms to each sub, which is twice their rated rms power handling.
-unless you can run the amp at 4 ohms.... i dont know what it puts out at 4 ohm. if it puts out somewhere around 600x1 @ 4 ohms, then you're good to go.

you might be able to bridge one of those 600.4 amps down to two channels, and run the two subs off that. but, it looks like that amp will only run bridged at 4 ohms. and you cant achieve a 4 ohm load with one 4 ohm DVC sub per channel.

i know from experience comp vr's can handle more then the recomended rms wattage... hell i run a memphis 1000D wired at 1 ohm to 1 of the dual 2 ohm coil ones with it turned down it done great for a year...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,582 Posts
On 2005-12-04 15:26, 87yota wrote:


i know from experience comp vr's can handle more then the recomended rms wattage... hell i run a memphis 1000D wired at 1 ohm to 1 of the dual 2 ohm coil ones with it turned down it done great for a year...
Sounds like a waste of a great amp.....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
So what yall are saying is I should wire 2 subs like the pic Robert posted? Then turn the amp down a little?

Looks like Ill have one 600 amp, two 10" subs, 2 capacitors and a speaker box left over.

I sure could use a set of nice replacement speakers.


:naughty:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,582 Posts
On 2005-12-04 16:40, NickM wrote:
will one of the 600s we wetter?

Bottom line is I can only fit two 10"s and 2 amps. How about running two 10" off one 600 and run some high off the other?
You could do that, but there isnt a way to optimize the power your getting out of the amps like that. if I was in your shoes, I would use one of the 600s for your highs, send the other to me (J/K), and the 1200.1 for your subs, then upgrade subs whan you get a chance (or not, you might feel they are fine). the only thing your doing by turning down that 1200 is not using it to its full capacity, which is actually better for the amp. it will last longer that way.
 
1 - 20 of 48 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top