Off Road Vehicles banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased a 1995 GMC Yukon 2dr. was in the process of driving it home when the tranny case cracked just behind the pan. The only thing I felt in the hour or so I had driven it was a vibration when I let off the gas that was gone as soon as I accelerated. Luckily my wife had followed me and alerted me of the fluid covering her windsheild. The mechanic I first talked to wanted to blame the pro-comp lift. I'm not sure how much of a lift it has, but it's running 35's with good clearance. The drive shaft doesn't look terribly bound or extremely angled to me, but I'm no pro. The only thing that seems a little off is I can wiggle the trasfer case/rear driveline up and down an inch or so with a little effort. Is this normal? This tranny that's in it now looks new to me, it's definately clean and metallic compared to the rest of the stuff down there. I'm looking at a pretty hefty repair on a vehicle I've owned less than 48 hours.... how do I prevent this in the future? Any ideas on what to investigate as the cause? Also it seems like there should be some mounts or supports other than the single one on the cross member, are there? or does the transfer case just kinda hang there like that?

Thanks to all in advance..

G

·
it shouldnt move so it sounds like a bearing on the t-case has gone terribly wrong, there is no other support for the t-case and the lift will only effect the t-case if its binding, it should break that before it does anything to the tranny, my guess would be something in the tranny broke due to either a cheap rebuild or faulty parts, the 4l60e is fairly strong i got 180,000 beat miles on mine before i lost 2nd gear

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·