Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
torque converter lock unlock at steady speeds
04-13-2004, 12:05 PM
Post: #1
 
Anyone have an idea of what could cause it to continuously lock and unlock at a steady rpm and rate of speed on flat land? I was told a sensor possibly bad but curious if anyone else had this same problem. A Dodge service guy said it was completely normal. I didn't think it was since it never did it before.

Thanks

Mike
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2004, 12:44 PM
Post: #2
 
Mine has locked/unlocked since it was new, but just every once in a while. If it's more frequent than that, I'd think there was a problem.... Baby




1999 Ram 1500 QC Black Sport 4x4
1973 Bronco Halfcab
2008 Expedition
2008 Explorer
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2004, 12:56 PM
Post: #3
 
i had this problem only at highway speeds on trips over an hour long. the problem was the TPS. replace it and you should be fine. mine was just a jump in rpm at say 65 and then it would lock back up.




2004.5 Ram 2500 Cummins 600 SLT 4x4, Isspro Boost/EGT/Tranny temp gauge setup, EDGE EZ, AFE Pro Guard 7, Torque Tube<BR><BR>85 4 Runner lifted with 33x14.50 SSR\'s for now...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2004, 01:39 PM
Post: #4
 
my blasted convertor only locks up when it feels like it... though it may have something to do with the horrible grinding noises it makes i dunno, maybe ill look into that one day.

ive never torn into a dodge tranny, ive done chevy's and usually any lock up problems with those is contributed to the lock up selonoid. i dunno if that helps i dont even know if the dodge lock ups use a selenoid... Rolling Eyes




Plaque is a figment of the liberal media and the dental industry to scare you into buying useless appliances and pastes. Now, I\'ve heard the arguments on both sides, and there is nothing to convince me of the need to brush your teeth.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2004, 01:45 PM
Post: #5
 
TPS (throttle positioning sensor). Mine started acting up about a yr ago. Before you replace it, take it off and clean it thoroughly with electrical contact cleaner and try it for a while. Mine has acted up since I fixed it the 1st time. Good Luck Thumbs Up!




Jeff<BR><BR>96 RAM 2500 4x4 CTD, 10\" lift,40\" hawgs, 4.10\'s, locked rear, AFE MegaCannon , Missing silencer ring, #5 fuel plate,<BR>5\" stacks,full gauges,,DT tracbar http://www.cardomain.com/id/gotsmoke <BR><BR>If guns cause crimes, then pencils cause mispelled words!<BR><BR>Alpha \"ooooooo, light condoms!\"
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-14-2004, 08:06 AM
Post: #6
 
They can also (GASP!!!!) flash the computer to take the premature convertor lockup away too. They can do a lot with the computer programming...they did a bunch to my 99 when I had the tranny replaced and the computer rejected it. They even fixed my cruise control speed gain!!!

Just make sure you tell them to ONLY TOUCH THE TRANNY portion of the computer, and that they are not to "death flash" the computer!

But as for it locking unlocking, the TPS is usually the culprit on the older rams. Sometimes they need cleaned to make them work again.

steved




2012 Chevrolet 2500HD Silverado 4wd
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-14-2004, 08:54 AM
Post: #7
 
this truck and my last truck (2WD) both did it. OD kicks ot to quickly and the the gears shifted to early. I adjusted it a little http://www.nickm.us/transadjustment.htm Still not great, but its better.




-Nick
Hendrix Toyota chassis #26 on a '74 Bronco frame, 5.0HO/C6/203/205, F/R steer Rockwells
The tow rigs:
'05 CTD Dually Hers
'06 CTD Dually 4X4 His
http://www.TXWheelers.com/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-17-2004, 11:08 AM
Post: #8
 
could be a faulty BOO switch. brake on/off switch. that unlocks the converter when the brakes are touched.




03 2500 4x4 CTD, longbox, quadcab, 6 speed, century royale cap, 35x12.5x17 cooper s/t, 2\" leveling kit, herculiner rolled bedliner
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2004, 05:18 PM
Post: #9
 
I agree with the TPS switch. I had that same problem. It was freaking anoying driving on the freeway and having the converter lock and unlock all the time.




1995 2500 cummins<BR>1970 Challenger T/A clone
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Sad Transmission and Torque Converter upgrades igonzales410 1 493 12-02-2010 06:09 PM
Last Post: swirvin21
  What stall torque converter? 1SikDMAX 2 749 11-02-2005 05:07 PM
Last Post: 1SikDMAX
  How does a torque converter work? summitlt 2 358 08-31-2004 05:01 PM
Last Post: summitlt
  Torque Converter Unlocking 00DodgeGuy 3 304 01-04-2004 09:02 PM
Last Post: 00DodgeGuy
  torque converter 85chevy4x4 3 375 05-15-2003 06:55 AM
Last Post: nvrenuf
  lock-up converter greyghost 2 279 07-03-2002 01:04 PM
Last Post: woody

Forum Jump:

[-]
Permissions Box
You cannot Post Threads.
You cannot Post Replies.
You cannot Post Attachments.
You can Edit Your Posts.
HTML is off
MyCode is on
Smilies is on
[img]-code is on
[-]
Permissions Box
You cannot Post Threads.
You cannot Post Replies.
You cannot Post Attachments.
You can Edit Your Posts.
HTML is off
MyCode is on
Smilies is on
[img]-code is on