Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
93 chevy 350 timing
04-26-2008, 11:06 AM
Post: #1
 
Hey guys i have to set the timing on my Chevy 350 engine...Anyone know how to do this? If you do could you please tell me how. Ha i just really need to get my engine running and thats about all i have left to do on my K15Blazer. Thanks to anyone who responds. Thumbs Up!




93\' Chevy k15 Blazer Stock w/230k on a 350 not worth putting money into Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2008, 11:36 AM (This post was last modified: 08-14-2011 08:37 AM by outalne94z71.)
Post: #2
 
the timing is set by disconnecting a single wire plug that can be found either under the plastic cover on the firewall to the left of the distributor or inside under the glovebox just above the foot area

the wire is brown with a black stripe



you disconnect that, start the engine and set the timing to 0 degrees then turn the engine off and plug that connector back in and your done




~ken~
aka. out
get your bouncing truck here, http://www.bouncingtrucks.com
my 88 sas "mudwasp" here http://www.pavementsucks.com/board/threa...otor-build
88 chevy k2500, started as reg cab lb, now reg cab shortbox, sas 17'' of lift, 52'' front springs large bbc , 79 dana hp 60 chevy outers, 14bolt ff spooled 5:13 gear ,divorced 205 and 44" tsl front 21.5x16.1 ag tires rear
1998 k3500 gmc crew cab dually L65 6.5TD 4l80e with a couple of mods
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2008, 11:00 PM
Post: #3
 
how do i know when its at 0 degrees




93\' Chevy k15 Blazer Stock w/230k on a 350 not worth putting money into Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2008, 11:23 PM
Post: #4
 
Quote:On 2008-04-26 23:00, RobbyD11 wrote:
how do i know when its at 0 degrees
with a timing light

there is markings on the timing tab by the balancer on the crank, when you have it running and the timing marks show 0 then you are all good




~ken~
aka. out
get your bouncing truck here, http://www.bouncingtrucks.com
my 88 sas "mudwasp" here http://www.pavementsucks.com/board/threa...otor-build
88 chevy k2500, started as reg cab lb, now reg cab shortbox, sas 17'' of lift, 52'' front springs large bbc , 79 dana hp 60 chevy outers, 14bolt ff spooled 5:13 gear ,divorced 205 and 44" tsl front 21.5x16.1 ag tires rear
1998 k3500 gmc crew cab dually L65 6.5TD 4l80e with a couple of mods
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-30-2008, 06:45 PM
Post: #5
 
ha thanks now i got another problem ha i seem to have stripped the fuel line connector that threads into the throttle body and it will not screw back in that damn truck even runs now but can you buy new parts to thread in?




93\' Chevy k15 Blazer Stock w/230k on a 350 not worth putting money into Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-30-2008, 07:10 PM
Post: #6
 
is the adapter on the throttle body stripped or the line fitting or are the treads in the aluminum stripped in the throttle body?




~ken~
aka. out
get your bouncing truck here, http://www.bouncingtrucks.com
my 88 sas "mudwasp" here http://www.pavementsucks.com/board/threa...otor-build
88 chevy k2500, started as reg cab lb, now reg cab shortbox, sas 17'' of lift, 52'' front springs large bbc , 79 dana hp 60 chevy outers, 14bolt ff spooled 5:13 gear ,divorced 205 and 44" tsl front 21.5x16.1 ag tires rear
1998 k3500 gmc crew cab dually L65 6.5TD 4l80e with a couple of mods
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-30-2008, 07:53 PM
Post: #7
 
If the threads on the line-nut are bad you may be able to clean them up with a thread file if they are not too bad and you get the correct size thread file. Also, if by chance they are not actually stripped but just not threading together due to alignment issues....try and remove the fuel line hold-down to give yourself some slack to wiggle the line around as you carefully try and start the threads BY HAND before taking a line wrench to them.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-29-2008, 06:58 AM
Post: #8
 
Also note there are 2 timing marks on the TBI 350 balancers but when using the light youll only see one and its 0 deg BTDC (Before Top Dead Center) ,if you ever have your distributor out and need to set it back in you line up the 2nd mark .




1996 Dodge Ram 1500 Laramie ,5.2 magnum v8 ,52 mm Holley throttle body,home made cold air intake,Flowmaster 40 muffler,3\" Skyjacker lift w/ dual steering stabilizer,295/75/16 (32\") Big D A/T Bigfoot tires,Herculined bottom quarters and bed interior .<BR>99 Mustang V6,Red w/ Black interior,mostly stock. <BR><BR>http://www.mudnuts.org/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2011, 08:12 AM
Post: #9
RE: 93 350 timeing
(04-26-2008 11:06 AM)RobbyD11 Wrote:  Hey guys i have to set the timing on my Chevy 350 engine...Anyone know how to do this? If you do could you please tell me how. Ha i just really need to get my engine running and thats about all i have left to do on my K15Blazer. Thanks to anyone who responds. Thumbs Up!
when you did your timeing did you have to have your truck at a certain rpm im trying to get my 93 c/k2500 timed it has a 350 and ifound the timein mark on the harmonic but when i retard timeign it moves closer to the timeing legend tab thing what dose your emiison stick read for timeing please help as in rpms it has to be at and outher things my sticker is gone
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2011, 08:38 AM
Post: #10
RE: 93 350 timeing
(08-14-2011 08:12 AM)ryver2500 Wrote:  
(04-26-2008 11:06 AM)RobbyD11 Wrote:  Hey guys i have to set the timing on my Chevy 350 engine...Anyone know how to do this? If you do could you please tell me how. Ha i just really need to get my engine running and thats about all i have left to do on my K15Blazer. Thanks to anyone who responds. Thumbs Up!
when you did your timeing did you have to have your truck at a certain rpm im trying to get my 93 c/k2500 timed it has a 350 and ifound the timein mark on the harmonic but when i retard timeign it moves closer to the timeing legend tab thing what dose your emiison stick read for timeing please help as in rpms it has to be at and outher things my sticker is gone
(04-26-2008 11:36 AM)outalne94z71 Wrote:  the timing is set by disconnecting a single wire plug that can be found either under the plastic cover on the firewall to the left of the distributor or inside under the glovebox just above the foot area

the wire is brown with a black stripe



you disconnect that, start the engine and set the timing to 0 degrees then turn the engine off and plug that connector back in and your done
timing is set as said above with a timing light at idle




~ken~
aka. out
get your bouncing truck here, http://www.bouncingtrucks.com
my 88 sas "mudwasp" here http://www.pavementsucks.com/board/threa...otor-build
88 chevy k2500, started as reg cab lb, now reg cab shortbox, sas 17'' of lift, 52'' front springs large bbc , 79 dana hp 60 chevy outers, 14bolt ff spooled 5:13 gear ,divorced 205 and 44" tsl front 21.5x16.1 ag tires rear
1998 k3500 gmc crew cab dually L65 6.5TD 4l80e with a couple of mods
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  85 chevy timing trouble shaneredracer2 20 1,408 03-22-2009 07:44 PM
Last Post: shaneredracer2

Forum Jump:

[-]
Permissions Box
You cannot Post Threads.
You cannot Post Replies.
You cannot Post Attachments.
You can Edit Your Posts.
HTML is off
MyCode is on
Smilies is on
[img]-code is on
[-]
Permissions Box
You cannot Post Threads.
You cannot Post Replies.
You cannot Post Attachments.
You can Edit Your Posts.
HTML is off
MyCode is on
Smilies is on
[img]-code is on